The theatre first opened in 1932 and was originally designed by Timothy Pflueger, a prominent architect whose work includes the historic Paramount Theatre and Pacific Stock Exchange buildings in San Francisco. By 1979, the Alameda Theatre, located in Downtown Alameda, closed its curtain as a result of declining attendance. Over the years, it housed a roller rink, a night club, band rehearsal studios, and a gymnastics studio until closing completely in 1990. Shortly thereafter, began the quest to secure the finances needed to restore the theatre to its original glory.
In 2006, the long awaited restoration project commenced for the City of Alameda. The design build rehabilitation and renovation of the historic theatre (listed on the National Register of Historic Places) includes many structural, MEP, and architectural improvements. The process involved delicate restoration of all lobby finishes, exterior blade and marquee, partial restoration of historical carpet, refurbishing of original doors and architectural woodwork, installation of new stadium seating (484 seats), concession area, and a women’s restroom. An elegant chandelier in the lobby with 180 etched glass panels was taken down, cleaned, and restored or replaced. The main theatre boasts a state-of-the-art sound system.
A design-build parking garage was constructed adjacent to the theatre with tight site access. The design build garage is 6 levels and 350 stalls.